Just Be

Just Be.

 

What does that really mean? Does it mean “fly by the seat of your pants”? Does it mean “what will happen, will happen”? Or does it mean “live for today”? I don’t know. It’s not really in my nature to live my life like this… I am a planner. On several occasions I have been told that I have trouble with this, that I am a future-oriented person, and if I’m not careful, I will miss the present. But sometimes I am able to make the conscious decision to just be. It’s hard. Life happens, and I forget to just be. In our fast-paced society, if you sit on the porch swing too long, you miss things. Yet, don’t they also say, “Stop and smell the flowers;” or “Life happens while you’re busy making other plans;” and my personal favorite, “If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans.” So how does one really live life like this?

 

The Tanzanians are big on using the present tense Beth said. “I am happy. This is wonderful.” Maybe I need to learn this lesson from them…a lesson of sitting still on the porch and just being. Yesterday we went into town to get skirts made. The tailor and his sewing machine were located on the front porch of his house, and he was surrounded by a whole host of characters. Several women, a few men, and many children were all just sitting around, talking and spending time together. There was no agenda, no future planning, just being…with each other. I envy that way of existing. In those moments they were 100 percent present to each other. They viewed each other as the most important things in the world, and they treated each other in that way. It was beautiful. I have found for myself that when I am able to let go of all of my baggage, all of my planning, all of my “what ifs” or “what could bes”, I really am able to enjoy myself. My experience is so much richer, and those relationships are so much deeper. I am whole. Now I don’t intend to take actions without considering the consequences, and I do like having my five year plan, but if I can master the art of just being, well, who knows where my life with take me in the end.

 

~ annie

0 Responses to “Just Be”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

